• May 2015
Add an event

Hot 25: 2009 Honorees
Untitled Page
Published: November 01, 2009

Sheryl Bourgeois

Executive Vice President of Advancement, Chapman University
Age: 43
Fact: While completing her doctoral degree in higher education at Claremont
Graduate School, she typically rose at 4:30 a.m. to fit everything in: family, exercise, work, doctoral research and her passion for cooking.
On Chapman’s growth: “Thanks to the incredible generosity of our board members and so many donors and friends, Chapman has changed dramatically in the past 15 years and has equally impressive plans for the future.”
Sheryl Bourgeois, vice president of advancement at Chapman University, knows the value of good business relations: “We seek to demonstrate how Chapman can be a resource for research through the efforts of our outstanding faculty and staff, or as an asset for work-force development through our amazing alumni population. Most of Orange County’s top businesses have come to rely on Chapman’s economic forecasting in building their strategic plans or models. We know that the competition for corporate support is tough, so our goal is always to make the relationships a win-win proposition by providing real value and a good return on investment.”
The development office aims to go beyond keeping pace with the school’s strategic plans under way. Bourgeois says she also wants it to be one step ahead: “By both nurturing the current constituency of donors who have helped bring us to this point in time – while also engaging the next generation of philanthropists in our mission – we believe we can position the institution for long-term sustainability.”

– Caitlin Adams

OC METRO's 2009 Hot 25 honorees:

Toby Bost  |  Mike Gillespie  |  Anil Puri  |  Sean Collins
Kevin Boylan & T.K. Pillan  |  Dr. Jason Knight  |  Hugh Hewitt
Luke Allen  |  Tina Aldatz  |  Sukhee Kang  |  Glenn Gray
Amelia & Florent Marneau  |  Tim McFerran  |  Tallia Hart
 Bill Sanderson Henrik Fisker  |  Janet Hamada  |  Wayne Gross
Julie Miller-Phipps  |  Michael Ruane  |  Carl St.Clair
  Pretend City Phil Willms Sheryl Bourgeois  |  Steve Nichols

<<< Back to 2009 honorees

Web extra:
To celebrate the 20th anniversary of OC METRO's Hot 25 awards, here are our original Hot 25 honorees, who were featured in 1990.

Doug Rankin  |  Erich Vollmer  |  Dennis Aigner  |  Greg Patton
Janice Mittermeier  |  Carol Stogsdill  |  Carl St.Clair
Anton Segerstrom  |  Christopher Cox  |  Christine (Reed) Iger
Dr. Robert Bade  |  Thomas Mays  |  Mike Goode
Richard Gadbois  |  Rudy Castruita  |  Debbie Miede
Ernest C. Brown  |  Mossimo Giannulli  |  Daniel L. Rasmussen
Cynthia Ellner  |  Kathryn Braun Lewis  |  David Wilhelm

<<< Back to Web extra main page:
first Hot 25 honorees