• May 2015
Add an event

Hot 25: 2009 Honorees
Untitled Page
Published: November 01, 2009

Anil Puri

Dean, Mihaylo College of Business and Economics, Cal State Fullerton
Age: 60
Fact: He enjoys golf, travel and reading.
His take on economics: “I see it having the rigor of physics and the complexity of biology. Who can resist that?”
Anil Puri envisioned a new home for Cal State Fullerton’s Mihaylo College of Business and Economics only a few years after becoming the school’s dean. And his top priority was making it a reality.
“It took three years before we seriously got into the planning process,” Puri says. “Mihaylo Hall represents a combination of the academic and corporate structures by providing a modern facade while being integrated with the campus architecture.”
The $85 million building, which opened a year ago, houses the largest business school on the West Coast. Mihaylo College has 50,000 alumni and 8,500 students currently enrolled in the program.
Puri joined the college as a junior professor in 1977 and became dean in 1998. In addition to his work as the dean, he presents two widely read economic forecasts every year: one in April and one in October.
“As a teenager, I was torn between going for hard sciences and social sciences,” Puri says. “My interest in writing and the intellectual challenge of economics drove me to the profession.”

– Ashley Eliot

OC METRO's 2009 Hot 25 honorees:

Toby Bost  |  Mike Gillespie  |  Anil Puri  |  Sean Collins
Kevin Boylan & T.K. Pillan  |  Dr. Jason Knight  |  Hugh Hewitt
Luke Allen  |  Tina Aldatz  |  Sukhee Kang  |  Glenn Gray
Amelia & Florent Marneau  |  Tim McFerran  |  Tallia Hart
 Bill Sanderson Henrik Fisker  |  Janet Hamada  |  Wayne Gross
Julie Miller-Phipps  |  Michael Ruane  |  Carl St.Clair
  Pretend City Phil Willms Sheryl Bourgeois  |  Steve Nichols

<<< Back to 2009 honorees

Web extra:
To celebrate the 20th anniversary of OC METRO's Hot 25 awards, here are our original Hot 25 honorees, who were featured in 1990.

Doug Rankin  |  Erich Vollmer  |  Dennis Aigner  |  Greg Patton
Janice Mittermeier  |  Carol Stogsdill  |  Carl St.Clair
Anton Segerstrom  |  Christopher Cox  |  Christine (Reed) Iger
Dr. Robert Bade  |  Thomas Mays  |  Mike Goode
Richard Gadbois  |  Rudy Castruita  |  Debbie Miede
Ernest C. Brown  |  Mossimo Giannulli  |  Daniel L. Rasmussen
Cynthia Ellner  |  Kathryn Braun Lewis  |  David Wilhelm

<<< Back to Web extra main page:
first Hot 25 honorees

Readers Feedback:

Impressive! After being away from CSUF for a number of years now, MBA in 1984, I wanted to check it out on the web. You guys have taken it to the next level. Good job! Tim Zumbro MBA Management '83 Patty Zumbro MS Child Development '81
Comment at 2/9/2010